Concealed Carry FAQ

Can I take an online course and get my Concealed Carry permit in Nebraska?
No, the statutes in Nebraska are very clear.  All courses must be taught in person and anyone who is a Nebraska Resident must get a Nebraska Concealed Handgun Permit to carry concealed in Nebraska.  Getting a non-resident permit that is recognized by Nebraska will not apply if you have a Nebraska driver's license.

If I have a CCW permit from another state that Nebraska recognizes, do I have to take the Nebraska Concealed Handgun course when I move to Nebraska?
Yes, nebraska requires you to take the course to get a Nebraska permit, but you will be allowed to apply right away rather than waiting 180 days to apply under these circumstances.

Can I get a Concealed Handgun Permit if I am not a US Citizen?
Yes, there is a provision for permanent residents to get their Concealed Handgun Permit.  The current permit application says that proof of citizenship has the following requirements:

__ Proof of citizenship. Applicants are required to be citizens or lawful permanent residents of the United States. Proof of citizenship can be a state certified birth certificate showing birth in the United States, a copy of naturalization papers, a Certificate of Citizenship issued by the United States Immigration authorities, or a signed current or expired United States passport. Proof of lawful permanent resident status requires a valid U.S. issued Permanent Resident Card or Alien Registration Receipt Card (i.e. Green Card). *Not required for renewal applicants.

Will the Nebraska Concealed Handgun Training Course be recognized as training for other states? 

Every state has slightly different requirements, but many do accept a firearms course taught by a certified NRA instructor as sufficient training for their state.  Our course would satisfy the training requirements for Iowa, Kansas, Colorado, Wyoming, Florida, Arizona, and several others.

Can I obtain my Nebraska Concealed Handgun Permit if I am a resident of another state and my spouse has been stationed in Nebraska?

Yes, LB-190 made this possible and was signed into law in February of 2016.

 If an applicant is a member of the United States Armed Forces, such applicant shall be considered a resident of this state for purposes of this section after he or she has been stationed at a military installation in this state pursuant to permanent duty station orders even though he or she maintains a residence in another state and claims that residence for voting or tax purposes. The spouse of such applicant shall also be considered a resident of this state for purposes of this section, as shall a person receiving the benefits of a spouse of a member of the United States Armed Forces under the law of the United States;

How do I carry a handgun through the State of Illinois?

"Out of state residents are granted a limited exception to lawfully carry a concealed firearm within a vehicle if they are eligible to carry a firearm in public under the laws of their state or territory of residence and are not prohibited from owning or possessing a firearm under federal law. This rule became effective immediately." 

         source: http://www.senategop.state.il.us/Portals/0/Concealed-Carry/13%20Concealed%20Carry%20Report.pdf

 

  •  Illinois law now contains increased protection for those who are traveling with firearms, since the preemption of local firearms ordinances applies to all individuals with a valid FOID card who are transporting firearms in compliance with all state regulations. A personal vehicle is also a safe haven for transport of firearms by non-Illinois residents not otherwise prohibited from possession.

Storage: In addition to the safe harbor found in one's vehicle, licensees who wish to store their firearm in the trunk of their vehicle while visiting an otherwise prohibited location may exit their vehicle while in the parking lot in possession of the firearm for the purposes of storing it in the trunk. They may also store the firearm in the passenger compartment of their vehicle in some sort of container as long as either the vehicle or container is locked and the firearm remains out of plain view.

source: http://www.nraila.org/legislation/state-legislation/2013/7/illinois-overview-of-the-new-laws-as-right-to-carry-becomes-a-reality-for-last-state-in-the-nation.aspx

DOES MY CONCEALED CARRY PERMIT ALLOW ME TO CONCEAL A LARGE KNIFE SUCH AS A BOWIE KNIFE?
No, the permit actually says "Concealed Handgun Permit" on it.

Will I lose my affirmative defense under the Prudent Person clause if I get my concealed handgun permit?
According to Nebraska Revised Statute:

69-2445.

Carrying concealed weapon under other law; act; how construed.

Nothing in the Concealed Handgun Permit Act prevents a person from carrying a concealed weapon as permitted under section 28-1202.

Source

If I use a revolver to qualify in the Nebraska CCW class can I carry a semi-automatic firearm?
Yes, Nebraska does not require you to carry only the type of gun you used to qualify.

CAN I SHOOT AT SOMEONE IN MY YARD JUST TO SCARE THEM OFF?
Most cities have a law against discharging a firearm in the city limits. You are also subjecting yourself to a number of civil and criminal liabilities when you use a gun as a means to scare someone who is not endangering your life or causing you to fear serious bodily injury, rape or kidnapping.

 

DO I HAVE TO TELL AN OFFICER I HAVE A CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT IF I AM NOT CARRYING? 
No, but it is a good idea to go ahead and tell them you are a permit holder who is not currently carrying so there aren't any surprises when they run your license.

 

AM I REQUIRED TO GET A HANDGUN PURCHASE PERMIT ONCE I HAVE A CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT?
BATFE officially acknowledged that the Nebraska Concealed Carry background check is sufficient to serve as a purchase permit, but every dealer has the right to require whatever they want. Some do not want to take any chances with the new rules when the old once have kept them out of trouble for years.

 

HOW LONG WILL IT TAKE TO GET MY PERMIT ONCE I TURN IN THE APPLICATION? 
The original statute says they will have it back to you within 45 days of getting your background check back from the FBI, and most people are getting them in 3-4 weeks.

 

DO I HAVE TO TELL AN OFFICER I AM CARRYING WHEN I TRAVEL THROUGH OTHER STATES? 
Every state has their own rules so make sure you do your research before traveling. The links on our reciprocity page are great resources for finding information like this.

CAN MY 16-YEAR-OLD CARRY A SHOTGUN IN THEIR VEHICLE WITHOUT AN ADULT?
Yes, as long as they can legally possess a shotgun and it is not loaded. A rifle may be transported while it is loaded, but a shotgun must be unloaded to transport.

DO I NEED A PERMIT TO CARRY A RIFLE IN MY VEHICLE?
No, there is no permit required to own, possess, or transport a handgun, rifle, or shotgun.  A Concealed handgun permit allows a person to concealed only HANDGUNS, so there is no legal way to carry a concealed shotgun or rifle if it accessible to you. The shotgun or rifle needs to be out of reach, grasp, or lunge and unloaded if it is concealed.

IF I HAVE A VIOLENT CRIME MISDEMEANOR ON MY RECORD CAN I STILL GET A CONCEALED CARRY? 
The revisions to the concealed carry laws have allowed violent misdemeanors to roll off after 10 years. Be aware that anything referring to domestic violence makes it a federal offense to own a firearm. The only way around this is to have it expunged from your record through legal channels.  Here is some more good information on the subject: Domestic Violence

DO I NEED A CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT TO CARRY CONCEALED ON MY OWN PROPERTY?
No.  The laws are intended to regulate how you carry when in public or on the private property of someone else.

IS SEXUAL ASSAULT THE SAME THING AS RAPE?
Not exactly.  Sexual assault encompasses a broader scope of behavior.  Groping can be defined as sexual assault, but without intercourse it is not rape.  The statute says deadly force can only be used to protect from death, serious bodily injury, kidnapping, and rape.  The exact wording can be read on the LAWS page.

Are shoot-through Holsters legal in Nebraska?
I am not a lawyer, but from the research I have done the shoot-through holsters that are being marketed could easily be considered a "wallet holster" by the BATFE definitions which is technically an "AOW" or "Any Other Weapon."  Some would argue that the designs that allow the slide to be exposed are exempt from this federal regulation.  You should probably talk to a lawyer about this before using one.  Another consideration is the unsafe "feature" of not having the trigger covered.  This is asking for an accidental discharge.

Should I get a Utah Non-Resident Permit as well?
A few years back Nebraska's concealed carry permit was not recognized in nearly as many states as it is now so it was very advantageous for a traveler to get the Utah permit.  Now there are 3 states that recognize Utah Non-Resident permits but do not recognize the Nebraska Concealed Carry permit (MN, GA, DE). Your Nebraska Concealed Handgun Training Certificate qualifies you for the Arizona and Florida Non-Resident Permit which will add Delaware, and Georgia to your options. Minnesota, Pennsylvania, and Washington no longer recognize the Arizona non-resident permit or the Florida non-resident permit.

How often should I unload my magazine?
Modern firearms do not suffer from weakening of springs from compression so it is not important to relax the spring to prevent weakening.  Here is a great article on the subject.

When initiating the contact with an officer, am I still obligated to immediately inform the officer that I am carrying?  
Most officers agree that it is not necessary for you to begin the conversation with a declaration that you are carrying if you initiated the contact. Since you aren't likely the one they will be concerned with once the conversation is over,  there is not much need for them to know.  It is always best to error on the side of safety and declaring would be the safe approach.  There is still a broad range of opinions about CCW holders among officers, but most are very comfortable with law abiding citizens being armed.

HOW DO I BECOME A CONCEALED CARRY INSTRUCTOR?
You will need to first complete the NRA Pistol Instructor course and then develop a lesson plan and submit with your application to the Nebraska State Patrol with your fingerprints and $15.  We typically offer the NRA Pistol Instructor Course several times per year so keep an eye on the schedule.  You will need to complete the NRA Basic Pistol Phase 1 online prior to class and we typically bundle the instructor course with the necessary NRA Basic Instructor Training and the Phase 2 of the student course.

HOW DO I OBTAIN A MINNESOTA CONCEALED CARRY PERMIT?
Minnesota offers non-resident permits to carry to people who have completed an approved firearm safety course taught by an approved instructor.  We have several approved instructors and can set you up with the course if you are interested.

CAN I TAKE AN ONLINE CONCEALED CARRY TRAINING COURSE TO OBTAIN MY NEBRASKA CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT?
No,Nebraska and many other states require their course to be taught in person and the students must shoot a course of fire to demonstrate proficiency in safety and fundamentals of shooting. Don't fall for the ads claiming you can take your course online. It is a scam.

WHAT ARE THE NEBRASKA CCW SHOOTING REQUIREMENTS?
The statutes require that students shoot approximately 50 rounds of practice and then qualify with a 30 round drill.  The qualification is done with an FBI Q Target and there are six shots from 3', twelve shots from 9'', six shots from 15' and six shots from 21'.  You can miss up to 9 of the total shots. This can be done with any caliber of handgun. There is no time limit.

DO YOU OFFER CONCEALED CARRY CLASSES FOR WOMEN ONLY?
Yes, We have a handful of certified female instructors and we offer all ladies classes several times per year.  They will be designated on the schedule as Ladies CCW Classes.  If you have a group of ladies wanting a class please contact us and we will set something up in your area.

Events